suitcases and memories

2 04 2009

In August, I’m going to be packing up my life in a few suitcases. Possibly a box or two to ship as well (it depends on the luggage allowances on whatever airline I fly over on). My bedroom is full of stuff. Books. Clothes. DVDs. All kinds of random things. But I’m only going to be able to bring a tiny fraction of it with me. 

So what goes with me, and what stays shoved in my closet and under my bed at home, and what goes to Goodwill? What am I going to wish I’d taken with me? What am I going to wish I left behind? I can’t anticipate all of that, but it sure is a daunting task. I know I can’t bring more than a few books, and I’ll have to get rid of a lot of my clothes, too.  I’ll be able to put my DVDs in a smaller case so that won’t be a problem. And this is just the practical side of it all. I mean, if I have to leave the red jacket hanging in the corner here, I won’t really mind too much. 

It’s a lot to think about, though, because these are pieces of my life–the shawl I got in Spain, the outdated globe (with the Soviet Union on it) that I used to spin and just imagine, the tiny sequin-and-styrofoam dance shoes my best friend made for me when we were ten, the Chinese good-luck charm from New York Chinatown. Things that would take up way too much space in my luggage because I don’t need these mementos, but I will miss having them around. I will miss having these dreams and memories there for me to look up, to see, and to remember, but I’ll be making new memories, and I’ll always have what’s in my mind–it just won’t be so readily available without these reminders, and I’ll miss that.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 04 2009
doviende

when i went to china, i just took whatever i could carry on my back in a large hiking backpack. I didn’t take any huge luggage because i knew it’d already be difficult enough to find my way around town, so i tried to stay as mobile as possible.

As for DVDs or CDs or whatever, you could perhaps get a 2.5″ usb hard drive and just copy them all onto there. Books are hard…that was my problem…i really wanted a bunch of books, but they’re just too bulky and heavy.

2 04 2009
jocelyn

If I were traveling, I’d stick to a backpack, but I’m going to school there and I’ll be in the same place (Bremen) for months at a time, living in a dorm, going to school, so I’m not too concerned about the luggage; it’ll be in my room most of the time, unless I’m going home for summer.

As for the DVDs, sticking them in a DVD wallet seems simpler. Books, though, that is the problem, isn’t it?

Thanks for the comment!

8 04 2009
girljordyn

You should keep the chinese good luck charm (if it’s the one I’m thinking of) from Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

