slumdog millionaire

22 03 2009

I saw this movie tonight with a friend, and I know I’m a little late to the party, but WOW. This was an amazingly well-done movie. The cinematography, the soundtrack, the story–all of it. Amazing. Totally deserved all the Oscars. 

But, this is not a movie review, and what I want to say is this…

I wrote an essay for my application to Jacobs that included the story of a day that changed my life. That day changed my life because it gave me a sense of purpose (go here for the full story; the version in the essay was abbreviated). I wrote that I wanted to help make a difference in the world, and was going to college to learn enough to make my help matter. Ignorant help can be worse than no help at all, and it’s true. I need to understand the situations in the world in order to understand what I need to do to make it better. I have always believed that, and two years ago, I felt it. Deep inside of me, I felt it. I had seen firsthand that a lot needs to be done, more clearly than ever before, and I felt the need to make a difference, or at least to try the best I could. 

As the months, and then years, passed by, I started to lose that sense of purpose. The horrors of the world weren’t staring me in the face anymore. My memories were fading. I tried to remember, but the words when I spoke of it became empty. I started to talk about other things. I started to think my feelings before were stupid and idealistic, that I could really make a difference. I started to think, why not just drift. It’s as good a plan as any. 

But then. But then, I saw this movie, and it sounds ridiculous to say a movie made a difference in my life–but it did. The pictures of life in India’s endless slums, so truthfully and heart-renderingly captured, made me see clearly again what had not been clear to me for months. I saw it again, and I felt it again. I am going to school next year in order to understand what’s going on in the world, and then I am going to try my best, give it all I can, to change it. 

I’m not enough of a good person for this to be my entire life. I intend to have some fun, too. But when it’s all said and done? This is what I’m doing, and this is why I’m here. I’m trying to figure out the best way to help alleviate at least one of the countless problems faced by our world. And, thanks to Slumdog Millionaire, those words, those promises, and that sense of purpose, are no longer becoming emptier and emptier.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 03 2009
Ronny Wells

Welcome to Jacobs University. I hope you enjoy it as much as you are enjoying writing about it now. Slumdog was indeed brilliant.

Best wishes for the future,
Ronny

22 03 2009
erin

This is a FANTASTIC post, and also inspiring.

As an actress, when I saw Slumdog Millionaire I walked out with a renewed sense of purpose, too. *This* is the kind of movies I want to make.

29 03 2009
Anne

Jocelyn, I agree. This post is magnifique.
I feel the same way–that the motivators to make a difference are no longer being flashed in my face and that my ‘words are becoming emptier.’
I will probably go watch Slumdog Millionaire thanks to you, in the hopes of rectifying this.

Leave a Reply

