possibilities

19 03 2009

I always thought this would be impossible–going to Europe for college. Sure, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for ages, but I never, until now, really believed it was possible. But, it is. It’s possible, and I’m doing it, and it’s going to be amazing.

Doing something “impossible” has made me think about other possibilities–things I have always kind of wanted to do, but never really believed were truly possible. I saw a gorgeous picture of Sydney, Australia today. Before, I would have thought, “I’d love to see that in person.” Today, the thought was the same, except added on to the end was, “And I will.” I have always wanted to see the world, and now I think that’s a dream that might really come true at some point. Before, I’d thought, “It would be really cool to teach English overseas,” and now I think, it would be amazing, and it’s something I might actually do. This is evident not just in things like travel–I thought, “I’ve always wanted to write a novel,” and on Sunday, I thought, “I will.” And since then, I’ve written eight thousand words and have a plan for the rest of it. Not that it’s some kind of masterpiece, but this time, instead of giving up after a few chapters, I believe that I really will write this whole story. I believe it, and that’s what’s different. I believe it’s possible. Nothing is really different, but I believe it is, and that makes all the difference in the world.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 03 2009
Anne

Superb. 😀 I want that attitude also! Go you for making your dream (school in Europe) an actual part of your future.

Also, I bet your 8,000 words and counting are awesome.

20 03 2009
erin

That’s fantastic. I try to have that attitude. I’m getting to that point, hopefully.

Leave a Reply

